Unique. Colorful. Innovative. Check out our PDP brand today. SHOP NOW

LOOKING FOR ROCCAT? CLICK HERE

Free Shipping on Qualifying Orders Over $49

Login

Click the button to redirect to the login page and we'll send you a login code, no password needed.

Turtle BeachAugust 17, 2021

Fortnite 17.40 Patch Notes: Release Date, Skins, New Weapons, Map Changes And Everything You Need To Know About The Next Update

Next up in Fortnite...

Update 17.40 will arrive in Fortnite TODAY.

Fortnite updates are unique opportunities to refresh the content in the game and bring new challenges as well.

17.30 brought in the Rift Tour event and much more, so we can expect some fun inclusions this time too.

A lot of content tends to get mentioned before launch, thanks to dataminers and leakers, but a lot of it isn't revealed until the day of.

Here are the patch notes for the 17.40 update in Fortnite.

Release Date

The next update will arrive on the 17th August 2021.

Servers will likely start to be disabled from 8.00AM UTC - those times are as follows:

  • 1.00AM PT

  • 3.00AM CT
  • 4.00AM ET
  • 9.00AM BST

  • 10.00AM CEST

  • 5.00PM JST

  • 6.00PM AEST

  • 8.00PM NZST

Matchmaking is usually disabled 30 minutes before the update is pushed out.

Sizes

This update should range between 1-5GB. Updates vary from platform to platform.

  • Xbox One: 3.34 GB
  • Xbox Series X: 3.06 GB
  • PS4: 4.00 GB
  • PS5: 4.00 GB
  • PC: 2.18GB
  • Switch: 3.50 GB
  • Android:
Patch Notes

Updates

  • STW Homebase Status Report
  • Creative Update
  • Heist LTM returning soon
  • New Crew Pack added
  • Imposters Gamemode added
  • Getaway LTM updated
  • New Refer-A-Friend rewards
  • New Creative Props added
  • All Epic Legendary Pistols, ARs and Snipers will be replaced with Silenced versions for this week's Wild Week.

Is an Among Us crossover coming? While a crossover was debunked, it could be that the game will get a similar mode called 'Imposters'.

The Cafeteria is very reminiscent of the one in the game - as well as some users tweeting very cryptic hints.

Agents of The Order are tasked with keeping The Bridge safe by identifying the Impostors. Be careful of Impostors! They have disguised themselves to take down The Order. If the Impostors eliminate enough Agents before The Bridge is secured - the Impostors win.

This gamemode will have 4-10 players.

Check out the mini-map!

Cosmetics

Skins

Wonder Woman is the big skin coming in this update - but there are several new ones added alongside her.

Bundles

The new update will bring back the Corrupted Legends Pack - it will be available until the 30th August.

Weapons

Exotic Burst Pulse Rifle will arrive and sold by Kymera - this weapon has a 1.5x damage multiplier when aiming.

Maps

Coral Castle is almost certainly being changed in the next update. The latest FNCS stream revealed an updated version of the POI split into chunks.

Craggy Cliffs may be set to be abducted next as the UFO Mothership begins to move in its direction.

Bug Fixes

According to the Fortnite Community Trello Board, here's what's being updated in the next update:

  • Battle Royale Issues
    • Preferred Item Slots: Chug Cannon moving to incorrect slots
    • Cannot open Cosmic Chest if a player left the team
    • Prop Disguise services temporarily disabled
    • Unable to proceed in Free Guy Quest chain
  • Creative Issues
    • Players are ejected from vehicles in shallow water
    • Adding the Skydome Device to the hotbar resets the island visually
    • Match Making Portal Slow to update
    • Creative Island images may reset to the original thumbnail image
    • Latency issues on XL Islands
    • Barrier Device Issues Summary
  • Save The World Issues
    • Wrong Event Ticket displayed on the Beyond Stellar Horizons quest
    • Certain items do not count towards players "Search Anything" objective during re-supply missions
    • Healing Build Attached perk not restoring the proper amount

There are also a number of other issues that are being worked on that may arrive in time for the update.

Follow us for the latest updates!

Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach

Join Our Community

Giveaways, gaming gear, our discord channel and more:

Giveaways, gaming gear, our discord channel and more:

© 2024 Turtle Beach. All rights reserved.